A Grant of Letters of Administration is simply a Court Order empowering the appropriate person (who is normally the spouse or next-of-kin) to be the Administrator of the Estate so that the assets of the Estate can be distributed according to the Intestate Succession Act.

The Intestate Succession Act sets out seven classes of persons who are entitled to apply for a Grant of Letters of Administration. In descending order of priority, these persons are:

  1. Spouse
  2. Children of the deceased
  3. Parents
  4. Siblings
  5. Nephews and nieces
  6. Grandparents
  7. Uncles and aunts.

If there are any beneficiaries who are below the age of 21 years, a minimum of two persons have to be appointed as the Administrators of the Estate.

Our team of dedicated and experienced probate lawyers will explain to you your roles and responsibilities in obtaining the Grant of Letters of Administration in order to distribute the assets to the beneficiaries.

Our Awards and Accolades